Skip to content

I’d like to make myself believe that planet earth turns slowly…

February 8, 2010

Well life hasn’t been exceptionally thrilling lately.  I got my hair cut last week – it was a bit nerve wracking, but I’m pretty happy with it.  It’s a lot easier to take care of and make look halfway decent.  Excuse the shitty webcam pictures located in various locations in the library because that is usually where I am when I’m writing these things, either at work or killing time between classes.

Before:

(God, enthusiastic to be at work?  That was also a pretty awesome hair day…go me.  Usually it was pulled back into an awkward long ponytail.)

After:

Again, at the library.  Waiting to go to ochem as genetics lecture was cancelled.  What a life.  It looks a bit longer than it actually is in the photo – I’m leaning forward slightly.  It just skims my shoulders.

So, pretty exciting stuff for me, but not for everyone else.  I was sick of taking care of my long hair.  I think my boyfriend misses it a little, but he’s adjusting.  It dries a lot faster, which means I can actually dry it with a blowdryer without my arm falling off.  It takes around 5 minutes and life is pretty awesome in the hair dept.

Uhhh yeah.  Need to get back on the homework train.  It’s hard for me to focus and get homework done on the weekend.  I just need to get into a different mindset.  For example, I have all my shit out, but I’m sitting here writing a blog post.  *sigh*

I guess that is my cue to sign off.  HOWEVER, I have a big package in the mail coming from KnitPicks.  Pictures!!!

2 40 inch circulars (size 1, size 2) for knitting socks using magic loops.  I feel like I’m idealizing using double pointed needles – I hate doing it on hats, why would I like it on the WHOLE sock?  I need to figure out how to interpret patterns written for double pointed needles on to circulars, but we’ll see how that goes.


(rav)

Two skiens of this yarn (around $2.50 a piece, holy BALLS) in a grey color – they are sold out now, so I can’t get a color swatch, but it was a grey color with those flecks of bright pieces as seen above.  It was hard to tell how dark it is – I will be pumped if it’s the darker grey in the picture, but I’m going to be gifting the socks to the boy (MAYBE, unless I like them, haha), so he’ll have to deal with whatever shade of grey comes.  Planning on this pattern:


(rav)

Not sure how manly it’ll be, but I think the pattern is really awesome looking.  So there!

Two skeins of self striping yarn (around $3.50 a ball) in this color:


(rav)

Not sure what pattern I’m going to use for these yet, but it’s a really nice color combo…and it looks like they are cancelling it, so that’s why it’s so cheap.  Woop?

Sock blocker!  I got a medium, and am kicking myself…I have big feet!  It shouldn’t be too much of a problem, but I’ll just have to stretch them out a bit more…whine whine whine!  It’ll be better than the not-blocking I’ve been doing, so whatever.  I could probably just mod them with a bit of plastic or cardboard…we’ll have to see how it works out.

As for current projects, I just tore up the sock that I’ve been working on since the new year because I was sick of the pattern. *sigh* I wanted to try something else, and it was just killing me to finish the other sock and they looked really MEH and I really like the yarn, so I scrapped the damn things and am starting over. It feels good! A few moments of sadness during the frogging process, but it has passed. Starting a pair of Nutkin (rav) socks, and I think they will be gorgeous.

Yep, so I’m going to go be a little bit productive at least!  Woooooooo!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

