Skip to content

Things I have loved I’m allowed to keep…

February 2, 2010

I’ll never know if I go to sleep…

Holy balls, this semester.  Who would have thought I would be this busy?  I wouldn’t have guessed when planning my schedule, but I guess I should have seen it coming.  Organic chemistry is always a bitch, especially when piled on top of a biochem class.  I’m not exactly sure how to feel about this biochem class quite yet.  Depending on how hard the tests end up being, I may end up being a huge fan, or a NOT HUGE FAN.  This class has the potential to come up and kick me in the ass out of nowhere…my attention will be toward o-chem, and all of the sudden my old lady technologically illiterate prof will be standing over me laughing as I bomb her tests.

Sigh.  My other classes are slightly more entertaining, or at least not as much work.  My computing class is fairly interesting…it is a change of pace.  My boyfriend is pretty happy that I’m learning something (no matter how useless…perl, really?) about computers and at least working in a linux environment once in a while, so I guess it’s good that someone feels like what I’m learning is somewhat useful (as I doubt I’ll ever do anything in perl outside of this class but HEY whatever)…plus, it’s nice to get to dick around with scripts and such instead of more endless problem sets full of benzene rings and allyl groups or probability and blahblahblah science.  SIGH.

I’m starting up my directed research project this week, and it’s pretty monotonous already, but it has the potential to be at least marginally awesome.  While the work is monotonous, I am totally on board with the project – yay genetics!  Yay gene expression!  Chlamie is one of the many so-called “model organisms”, so being able to sequence the genome (done) and then map what all the genes do, and how mutations effect the proteins that are produced (what I’m helping with) will really help with the human genome project , which is currently trying to make sense of the sequence they got and figure out how gene expression works on a more universal scale.  Woo!

I get my own little room to put all my stuff with a key so my shit doesn’t walk away, which is nice.  I can also go and study there when I’m in St. Paul.  It’s a nice room, and I might set it up to be a little study space.  The lab is pretty quiet, and I can listen to my little podcasts while I’m in there.  Hurrah hurrah.  We’ll see how that all goes.  It’s going to be a part of what I’m doing for the next year or so (at least), so I’m going to try to enjoy it as much as possible and try to make as many connections as I can in the plant biology world.

As busy as the here and now is, I’m always worried about what comes next.  What comes next is always frightening.  I don’t think I will be going to grad school right after I graduate with my undergrad (mostly because I doubt I could get in, wtf), but if I someday want to, I’d like to have some idea of what I want to do.  Only I don’t.  A dream situation would be if I could get a fulltime position in a lab on campus – they have benefits and decent pay and yadda yadda.  I then have a bit more flexibility to where I go after that…depending on the relationships I’m in and such a year down the road…….yeah.

Been dating my dude for around 9 months now, which is a decent amount of time.  Long enough to be like “OH, this summer this is happening, I’m going to let you know because I’m planning on having you in my life that far in the future, so cool!”.  Which eventually extrapolates to “We’re all graduating soon, so we should probably know what we both plan on doing so we just know things just in case, lalala, etc.”  Which might involve not being in Minneapolis after graduation…scaaarrryyy.  Luckily I don’t realistically have to worry about that for a while yet, but a year ago doesn’t seem that long ago…how soon will a year in the future come up?  Just saying.

Luckily, I have enough to keep my mind occupied on the present for the time being – two more semesters, and I am out of this crapfest.  Currently having my compsci prof describe an array to me.  THANKS BUDDY.

Gonna go now.  Learn some stuff…yup.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

